Sullivan  points out the Clinton cabal is backtracking on the “threshold” argument. Ben Smith reports that Obama had a little something for them:

“They have been spending the last two or three weeks” arguing that he is not ready to be commander in chief, Obama said.

“I don’t understand. If I am not ready, how is it that you think I should be such a great vice president?” Obama asked the crowd, which gave him a standing ovation during his defense. “I don’t understand.”

“You can’t say he is not ready on day one, then you want him to be your vice president,” Obama continued. “I just want everybody to absolutely clear: I am not running for vice president. I am running to be president of the United States of America.”

Greg Sargent has this:

See, I was trying to explain to someone the “okey-doke.” Y’all know the okey-doke? It’s when someone’s trying to bamboozle you, when they’re trying to hoodwink you. They are trying to hoodwink you. You can’t say that he’s not ready on day one, unless he’s willing to be your vice president and then he’s ready on day one.

I want everybody to be absolutely clear — I’m not running for vice president, I’m running for president of the United States of America.

I’m running for president of the United States of America. I’m running to be commander-in-chief. And the reason I’m running to be commander-in-chief is because I believe that the most important thing when you answer that phone call at 3 in the morning is: What kind of judgment you have?

Dude. (Or whatever it is kids say these days.)

My one question for Hillary is: If you are ready on day one to lead, who will you lead? When half a million Rwandans were being hacked to death, she couldn’t persuade your own husband to do anything about it. Does she really believe she can persuade 100 people who think they would make a better President to do ANYTHING if she could not persuade own husband? (If, indeed, she ever tried.)

About The Ancient Randonneur

A randonneur and epicure without a sinecure.
This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

